So where to and what for from here…?

Hey folks so from one campaign to another with huge enthusiasm and same passions…

Live Below the Line to The End of Polio 

The thing I love about all this is that the subject is different but for the objective is still the same. For me that is to be a representative to the people I have learnt so much from in developing countries and see them be able to have access and opportunity to basic choices in life – not between hungry or healthy; simple vaccine or nothing; work or education, etc…

So till September when I will be doing the New Zealand Live Below the Line (they run their campaign later in the year) maybe from Tajikistan…

Thank you for reading, following, commenting and hopefully learning a little and please see below what I am doing for The End of Polio across Canada this summer and would be great to see you as I head around! http://www.theendofpolio.com

Also touring for The End of Polio in Canada will be Ramesh Ferris in August!

We have an opportunity for you to engage with the movement to see The End of Polio – for everyone… forever…

I am writing on behalf of the Global Poverty Project and The End of Polio campaign to join us in our Canadian Summer Tour advocating for the global eradication of polio.

From May to September, well-known polio advocate, Ramesh Ferris, and I will be touring Canada in an effort to build public and political support for polio eradication (see below email for tour dates and attached for more info). Throughout the tour, we will be: engaging the public, meeting with government, and giving polio presentations on successes and what is still required for a polio-free world.

While a global partnership – the Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI) – has succeeded in reducing polio by 99%, a funding shortfall of almost US$1 billion currently threatens efforts to eradicate the final 1%.

So we’re building Canadian public support and asking the Government to lead on action for a polio-free world at the United Nations General Assembly in September.

We could really use your voice and advocacy to maximise our impact during the tour. If you would like to join us in taking action and leading to see The End of Polio you can:

  • Host a polio presentation at a Rotary club, business, university, school, church, community group, friends or any group interested – see here for more information
  • Connect me with Government and community leaders, Rotary / Rotaract members or anyone to help swell the Canadian supporting of a world without polio (forever)!

I hope to hear from you soon and am keen to follow up with any opportunities and actions you might like to take. Please pass this email onto others you think would be interested and I also have a simpler email and call to action on polio if you want.

Many Thanks

d’Arcy

P: 418-261-6342
E: darcy@globalpovertyproject.com
W: The End of Polio:http://www.theendofpolio.com Global Poverty Project: http://www.globalpovertyprojecy.com

The End of Polio

Global efforts have delivered incredible progress – a 99% reduction since 1988, immunising more than 2 billion children and preventing more than 5 million children from lifelong paralysis or death. In January, the world reached a milestone in the fight to eradicate polio – 12 months without a case of polio in India.

But progress towards eradication is at risk with a funding gap of almost US$1 billion for 2012/13 – threatening international efforts for a polio-free world.

That’s why The End of Polio campaign is working with partners such as Rotary International, governments and the broader community, to make the end of polio a reality.

The Global Poverty Project

The End of Polio campaign is run by the Global Poverty Project. Launched at the UN in 2008, the Global Poverty Project is an innovative and dynamic public education and campaigning organisation. We are committed to increasing the number and effectiveness of individuals taking action against extreme poverty; and provide everyday people with simple, yet effective ways to learn more and take action.

The End of Polio Canadian Summer Tour

d’Arcy Lunn, one of the Global Poverty Project’s keynote presenters, will be touring Canada from May to July this summer – to be followed by polio survivor and advocate, Ramesh Ferris in August. Along the way, they will be engaging the public, meeting with government, and giving public presentations on the remarkable history of polio and the current global effort to eradicate the first human disease since smallpox – forever! Click here to see more about the presentation and we also have a polio specific presentation.

Tour Dates

May 24-30; Quebec
May 30-June 3 Montreal
June 3-10 Ottawa
June 10-14; July 10-19 Toronto
June 17-26 Edmonton / Calgary
June 27-July 10 Kamloops / Vancouver / Squamish / Whistler / Victoria
July 20-24 Washington DC and New York – End Tour d’Arcy
August Ramesh tour Vancouver, Toronto and Ottawa
18-25 September UN General Assembly, New York

All the detailed information around The End of Polio is on our website: http://www.theendofpolio.com

Informing and empowering people to know about and take action on – the global eradication of polio!

 

Presenting Live Stream Global Poverty Project Presentation

So sorry to drop off the face of the earth – especially as it is the official Live Below the Line week but I have been busy… I have written the blogs for each day since day 25 just not posted them.

BUT I have some great news about a Global Poverty Project presentation live streaming tomorrow night that I will be presenting – see the details below!

AND I have been asked to project manage global polio eradication advocacy in Canada this summer – keep you in touch about that one…

So the info for the live stream GPP presentation I will be delivering at 7pm New York time from the New York Google office – http://gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject 

Lots of Live Below the Line posts to follow this one but if you have had any burning LBL questions for me tune into the live stream and ask away or on twitter #LBLhangout
Hi Folks,
Anyone / Everyone can see a Global Poverty Project 1.4 Billion Reasons presentation live streamed this Thursday 7pm New York time from the Google office where I will be presenting. http://gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject
Please send out to your networks and anyone who might be interested. Also a great opportunity for future presentation and engagement opportunities…
Many Thanks, d’Arcy.
Many people have said they would like to see a Global Poverty Project presentation that I give someday… well you have a chance on Thursday 10 May 7pm New York time! gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject
I will be doing a live stream broadcast of the Global Poverty Project 1.4 Billion Reasons presentation from the NY Google office and through their new initiative – Hangouts in Google+. Google approached us with this amazing opportunity and we are expecting 100s from around the world to tune in. There is no sign up required just go to this link: gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject tomorrow (Thursday) 7pm New York time (see your corresponding time slot below).
There will also be a Q&A session at the end so have your questions ready and twitter loaded (#LBLhangout).
For a guide to times of the presentation see below:
Thursday 7pm New York time is…
Thursday 4pm Pacific time
Thursday 5pm Mountain time
Thursday 6pm Central time, Peru, Mexico
THURSDAY 7PM NEW YORK TIME
Thursday 8pm Brazil, Argentina
Friday 12am in London
Friday 1am Paris, Berlin, etc…
Friday 2am Ethiopia
Friday 5.30am India
Friday 7am Perth and Beijing
Friday 8am Japan
Friday 8.30am Adelaide, Darwin
Friday 9am Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Hobart
Friday 10am Vanuatu
Friday 11am New Zealand
Happy to answer any poverty, polio and or Live Below the Line questions as I will also be on my second to last day of Live Below the Line (living on less than $1.50/day for all my food and drink) for 5 weeks!!! (http://lunnyLBTL.wordpress.com)
Love to see you join in on this great opportunity to share the GPP presentation, what I do and an opportunity to join the movement that can see an end to extreme poverty…
That very special link again to see the GPP presentation 27 hours from now… http://gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject
d’Arcy.
PS. CANADIANS… in June and July I will be travelling across Canada for global polio eradication advocacy – would be great to catch up and let me know if you want me to present to schools, businesses, Rotary clubs, churches and more… http://www.theendofpolio.com

One of over 120 presentations I have given but the one tomorrow will be my first online!


Skype: lunny06
darcy@globalpovertyproject.com
Teacher, Global Poverty Project Presenter, Volunteer and Advocate
Cycling, Swimming, Presenting and Living Below the Line in the US and Canada this April & May – http://lunnyLBTL.wordpress.com and http://www.livebelowtheline.com Then heading across Canada for global polio eradication advocacy http://theendofpolio.com