The Official Live Below the Line Week from New York

Day – 29-33 or 1-5 of the official LBL challenge!

  • Breakfasts: oats and orange peel, as per the norm…
  • Lunches: usually left over dinners
  • Snacks: the regular cold cooked potatoes, yams and corn bread one day
  • Dinners: combo of the following… lentils, rice, pasta, couscous, kale, pasta sauce and a few flavours of onion soups, chicken broth and taco seasoning

My own kitchen with stove, oven and more!!!

It was by far the easiest week of cooking and eating as I was based in one place for a whole week and with another partner in crime who also was doing the challenge for a month. So we pooled costs and ate simply but well.

The official week of Live Below the Line was just fantastic – so nice to be joined but over 10,000 others around the world in this amazing campaign. I was also very fortunate to be doing it out of the Global Poverty Project USA office in New York.

Certainly not the roads I was riding on the West Coast – same sky though!

It is my first time in New York and it is a very distinct place, culture and way of life. I have continued to walk a lot, walking to the office and back at least a 16km round trip and soaking up everything around me with the LBL perspective.

One of the bridges that connects Brooklyn to Manhattan on my walks

There was one major highlight from the week. I had a unique and thrilling opportunity to give a live streamed presentation on Google + Hangouts on Air at the Google office on Thursday going out around the world to anyone tuned in. If you missed it, bad luck (or maybe good luck!), but the filmed Q&A session is available with some great questions and hopefully decent answers – http://www.globalpovertyproject.com/pages/lblhangout

I will save the next blog for how I ended my Live Below the Line journey as I think it was pretty cool and in totally New York style.

A huge congratulations to all the people who took part in the week and I know they will have received a lot of perspective, insight, reflection and hopefully lots of resolve from the week!

Not very often I get to unpack my bag and use a cupboard… Special moment for the next two weeks moments!

Advertisements

Presenting Live Stream Global Poverty Project Presentation

So sorry to drop off the face of the earth – especially as it is the official Live Below the Line week but I have been busy… I have written the blogs for each day since day 25 just not posted them.

BUT I have some great news about a Global Poverty Project presentation live streaming tomorrow night that I will be presenting – see the details below!

AND I have been asked to project manage global polio eradication advocacy in Canada this summer – keep you in touch about that one…

So the info for the live stream GPP presentation I will be delivering at 7pm New York time from the New York Google office – http://gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject 

Lots of Live Below the Line posts to follow this one but if you have had any burning LBL questions for me tune into the live stream and ask away or on twitter #LBLhangout
Hi Folks,
Anyone / Everyone can see a Global Poverty Project 1.4 Billion Reasons presentation live streamed this Thursday 7pm New York time from the Google office where I will be presenting. http://gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject
Please send out to your networks and anyone who might be interested. Also a great opportunity for future presentation and engagement opportunities…
Many Thanks, d’Arcy.
Many people have said they would like to see a Global Poverty Project presentation that I give someday… well you have a chance on Thursday 10 May 7pm New York time! gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject
I will be doing a live stream broadcast of the Global Poverty Project 1.4 Billion Reasons presentation from the NY Google office and through their new initiative – Hangouts in Google+. Google approached us with this amazing opportunity and we are expecting 100s from around the world to tune in. There is no sign up required just go to this link: gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject tomorrow (Thursday) 7pm New York time (see your corresponding time slot below).
There will also be a Q&A session at the end so have your questions ready and twitter loaded (#LBLhangout).
For a guide to times of the presentation see below:
Thursday 7pm New York time is…
Thursday 4pm Pacific time
Thursday 5pm Mountain time
Thursday 6pm Central time, Peru, Mexico
THURSDAY 7PM NEW YORK TIME
Thursday 8pm Brazil, Argentina
Friday 12am in London
Friday 1am Paris, Berlin, etc…
Friday 2am Ethiopia
Friday 5.30am India
Friday 7am Perth and Beijing
Friday 8am Japan
Friday 8.30am Adelaide, Darwin
Friday 9am Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Hobart
Friday 10am Vanuatu
Friday 11am New Zealand
Happy to answer any poverty, polio and or Live Below the Line questions as I will also be on my second to last day of Live Below the Line (living on less than $1.50/day for all my food and drink) for 5 weeks!!! (http://lunnyLBTL.wordpress.com)
Love to see you join in on this great opportunity to share the GPP presentation, what I do and an opportunity to join the movement that can see an end to extreme poverty…
That very special link again to see the GPP presentation 27 hours from now… http://gplus.to/GlobalPovertyProject
d’Arcy.
PS. CANADIANS… in June and July I will be travelling across Canada for global polio eradication advocacy – would be great to catch up and let me know if you want me to present to schools, businesses, Rotary clubs, churches and more… http://www.theendofpolio.com

One of over 120 presentations I have given but the one tomorrow will be my first online!


Skype: lunny06
darcy@globalpovertyproject.com
Teacher, Global Poverty Project Presenter, Volunteer and Advocate
Cycling, Swimming, Presenting and Living Below the Line in the US and Canada this April & May – http://lunnyLBTL.wordpress.com and http://www.livebelowtheline.com Then heading across Canada for global polio eradication advocacy http://theendofpolio.com