Live Below the Line: Live Simply so ALL can Simply Live

You know the old saying ‘Live simply so others can simply live’ actually I don’t know if that is a saying or if I made it up… Anyway there is more to that saying than what you might first think.

The work I do with the Global Poverty Project addresses the simply live part of 1.4 billion people in the world who can’t obtain it but personally I am just as passionate about the live simply part for the opposite 1.4 billion people in the world (me and likely you if you are reading this blog…) who can choose it.

I am not going to tell people what to do but… personally I have really learnt from the poorest in the world that simple living has a lot going for it especially if you get to choose it and not live in hunger, fear, sickness or absolute uncertainty.

Anyone I have met who has visited a developing country has always said ‘the people seem so happy there’. Well they are because they have to be as there is very little else in their life to distract them from pure, humanistic and simplistic living of people, community, family and friends.

I am totally glorifying the noble savages here and making a slight mockery of poverty but there is a huge lesson in this for me. As I have slowly learnt to perpetuate the developing way of life in the developed world I have become richer for it. Less means so much more to me now and it keeps my body, thoughts, environment and community much purer and happier.

In developed countries to give me the purity of life I strive for with the most satisfaction – Live Below the Line is the best thing I have done along with hiking and cycling trips.

Like the 10km walk to the airport in Portland with this stunning sunset

For me Live Below the Line redefines how life can be in the developed world and makes those things that are so important in life that much clearer such as family, friends, community and nature – all of which are free but priceless. It really showcases to me that the best ‘things’ in life are ‘doings’ – talking, writing, walking, riding, helping, reading, learning, sharing, teaching, living!

I can’t tell people to change their life and live simply but I can do it for myself and hopefully model that less income, more time, more family, more community, more nature, more pure living is a richness that is totally undervalued and underappreciated in the developed world. If we can learn a few of these joys I am sure we will see a world where we can all simply live.

Day 27

  • Portland and on plane to New York at 11pm
  • Breakfast: porridge pancakes with my wonderful friend Julianna
  • Snacks: bread and plenty of it!
  • Lunch: onion soup broth with bread
  • Dinner: Leftovers from dine below the line – lentils, rice and quinoa

Another day of catching up on food – nailed the rest of the loaf of bread!

Another simple happy breakfast with an old friend!

3 thoughts on “Live Below the Line: Live Simply so ALL can Simply Live

  1. Hey Lunn,
    You should take credit for that saying. I think you are right in lots of ways. I think it goes back to the whole idea of the GPP in that we should be more aware of our surroundings, more conscience of our impact and what impact we can make. Also its very relevant to changing our perspectives. What is important in our day to day lives? We often get caught up in the system around us and forget about the simple things. I know I can be a case in point sometimes. Anywho I hope we can live and learn. To be honest I found it really hard to live below the line in my lifestyle with kids. Although I don’t spend much apart from a couple of icecreams and some beers for myself – I have trouble to cutting it back to absolute basics, Sorry I couln’t take on your challenge. I will continue to watch my lifestyle and see where I can cut down. you are a star mate. Love you.

    • Thanks mate and unfortunately the quote, I found out, comes from Ghandi so not claiming that one! I too love the mix of developing country poverty eradication and developed country simplicity. I also have a great appreciation of those of you who have families, responsibilities and ‘real life’ day to day like your self. Mutual respect, inspiration, admiration and love back to you.

Leave a Reply

