Living Just Above The Line – I Think Is My Utopia

Day 25

  • Olympia, Washington State
  • Breakfast: my favourite steal cut oats, orange peel and water – cheap one so more snacks in the day
  • Snacks: ¼ banana, sunflower butter, ½ bagel
  • Lunch: lentils with dash of curry powder, 1 onion and 1 bulb of garlic (half), 1/2 yam
  • Dinner: lentils with dash of curry powder, 1 onion and 1 bulb of garlic, 1/2 yam and half a bagel

Rained non-stop, not even 1 minute break, for the whole day and I was very happy to be in a wonderful hosts house preparing for global polio eradication advocacy I will be doing in Canada this summer – a new role with Global Poverty Project! http://www.theendofpolio.com

If I could double my daily amount to $3 of food or even $5 I think I would be in utopia…

Live Below the Line has taught me so much on this journey and how to appreciate everything that little bit more and how special even the smallest things are… I love living with this appreciation but I would also like to do it where I can eat a few more fruits and vegetables.

Simple lentils and yam means so much when you have little – thats the way I like it… The bagel is pure luxury!

I can see myself Live Just Above the Line on many occasions from here on. When I did LBL last year for a month I continued to do LBL every Monday for the few months after. I think I can take it to another level this year – not by doing LBL more as I really need to put on a little weight but to live, eat and act simply, meaningfully and appreciatively.

Less if often more as you will have gathered in my posts to now but Live Below the Line has given me an avenue to pursue and enjoy it in a way that I haven’t been able to do as easily in developed contexts.

I can only encourage others to think about doing a Live Below the Line meal, day or week – anytime and then enjoy the satisfaction of it and think about how you might look at doing it on a more regular basis… or I could sell this with – save money, eat healthy and feel great about the world around you!

Everything I could ever want in life – transport, accommodation (tent) and freedom to do it…

Then to tie it all back into the Live Below the Line cause – imagine what it would mean to someone who lives in extreme poverty FOR LIFE to double their earnings… and the scary things is it doesn’t usually go into food but to education and an attempt to create access and opportunity… amazing eh – they put up with so much and are so powerful to overcome these things everyday – that is my greatest appreciation from this trip so far!

Not much but means so much – access, opportunity & the future without extreme poverty…

Leave a Reply

