$1.50 a day is small change for a major change…

Day 23

A portal in the clouds for a Seattle sunrise!

  • Seattle sunrise and back to Olympia
  • Breakfast: Whole-wheat bagel with lentils on top!
  • Lunch: Leftover corn bread and ¼ cold boiled yam (not boiled in cold water, cold after boiling the day before)
  • Dinner: Bagel and sunflower butter – bit crazy on the bagels but can’t carry them all now back on the road travelling and ate less than I though I would so far!

A fantastic presentation at Washing University with International students – they all want the Global Poverty Project in their home countries including Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Japan, Brazil and many more!

Live Below the Line is proving to be quite transformational for me again this year and it has me renewing my usual crazy New Year Resolutions and looking at some new ones or making certain promises and commitment to myself that I would like to perpetuate in everyday life that I have learned so far on this trip.

  • Eating to live as opposed to living to eat is a healthy attitude from time to time – to take a step back from having fantastic delicious meals all day everyday and to appreciate some simple beans and rice or lentils and onion
  • Walking, riding and swimming are worth spending time on – the days where I walk or ride for at least 4 hours have been great and has been time well spent
  • Healthy body… healthy mind… allowing myself to take time to do things, exercise and time to think, contemplate and reflect
  • A great diet, maybe not enough, but certainly a good basis for healthy eating on oats, lentils, vegies, rice, pasta etc… would be nice to have more fruit though!
  • Eating locally, in season and unprocessed  -basically you can’t afford anything that is pre-made and it all comes from natural basics – basically nothing from a factory or using heaps of resources to produce or be shipped
  • Interaction – with people and nature. The simple free things in life become important, meaningful and fulfilling – especially meeting people and talking
  • Transport of walking or riding to get from A to B I have been loving – even if it will take a couple of hours or a day. Best when the weather is nice but humbling when its not and I like making the time and enjoying the trip

I will be banging on about the richness of simplicity in the next few blogs so I’ll save those thoughts for now.

  • Did I also forget it is extremely powerful for insights and understanding in to how 1.4 billion people live everyday and how your efforts can made a massive difference to them in advocacy and sponsorship!!!

All I can say is that Live Below the Line is one the most transformational experiences I believe you can have in the developed world to understand, appreciate and be inspired by the way people live in the developing world.

Are you doing Live Below the Line NEXT MONDAY? You should – it’s a life changer and a great one at that!

Sign up through the Global Poverty Project http://www.globalpovertyproject.com and find out more here http://www.livebelowtheline.com

OR have you sponsored me yet…?

Australia: https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/lunnylbtl

US: https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/uslunnylbtl

Leave a Reply

