Cycling 1000 miles eating on less than US$1.50/day… WHY?

The messages I want to send out by doing this trip – and most importantly why…

WHY in detail

  • I am not doing this to showcase myself, self promote, fish compliments or impress anyone
  • This trip is based on the experiences, learning and inspiration I have pulled from the past 11 years of travel, volunteering and learning, especially in developing countries
  • I want to advocate and be the middleman
    • Hopefully for the first time people will be drawn to do Live Below the Line from May 7-11
    • Others will be able to see if I can do it riding for a month, Live Below the Line is possible for them for five days
    • Hopefully they will also see it will be a great experience with lots of learning, empathy and inspiration
    • What I am doing is beyond the campaign but it is nothing compared with the 1.4 billion people in the world who live in extreme poverty every day with no assurances of an end
  • I love simplicity and seeing the world in that light – I know I will learn a lot with powerful perspectives and insights
  • I want to show the amazing resilience, resourcefulness and unrelenting hope and hard work people who live in extreme poverty have
  • I want to empower the people who live in extreme poverty – so we see them as truly remarkable
    • From this point we can understand and take action in support – not pity, guilt or sadness
  • There is no better way to see a place and it’s people than on a bike sharing stories and lives
  • I’m a human just as important and insignificant as anyone else and this is what I do, just as others do with equal commitment and purpose as students, parents, workers, volunteers, etc…
  • I want to see everyone have access and opportunity, voluntary simplicity and a perpetual smile as I am lucky to have
  • Offer an example for more people to live within the capacity of our environment, and enjoying it
  • Advocate nature, cycling, simplicity, sustainability, healthy lifestyles, community interaction + ?…
  • Shits and giggles – the world is a wonderful place to have fun… why not!
  • I live, learn and act to see a world without extreme poverty anymore

4 thoughts on “Cycling 1000 miles eating on less than US$1.50/day… WHY?

    • Thanks Oscar. It is going to be a mental game but I know I will always be doing it easier than those who live in extreme poverty and personally I love the simplicity and fulfilment of it as well. MMake sure you join in the ride as I blog from the road! Cheers, d’Arcy.

Leave a Reply

