The Official Live Below the Line Week from New York

Day – 29-33 or 1-5 of the official LBL challenge!

  • Breakfasts: oats and orange peel, as per the norm…
  • Lunches: usually left over dinners
  • Snacks: the regular cold cooked potatoes, yams and corn bread one day
  • Dinners: combo of the following… lentils, rice, pasta, couscous, kale, pasta sauce and a few flavours of onion soups, chicken broth and taco seasoning

My own kitchen with stove, oven and more!!!

It was by far the easiest week of cooking and eating as I was based in one place for a whole week and with another partner in crime who also was doing the challenge for a month. So we pooled costs and ate simply but well.

The official week of Live Below the Line was just fantastic – so nice to be joined but over 10,000 others around the world in this amazing campaign. I was also very fortunate to be doing it out of the Global Poverty Project USA office in New York.

Certainly not the roads I was riding on the West Coast – same sky though!

It is my first time in New York and it is a very distinct place, culture and way of life. I have continued to walk a lot, walking to the office and back at least a 16km round trip and soaking up everything around me with the LBL perspective.

One of the bridges that connects Brooklyn to Manhattan on my walks

There was one major highlight from the week. I had a unique and thrilling opportunity to give a live streamed presentation on Google + Hangouts on Air at the Google office on Thursday going out around the world to anyone tuned in. If you missed it, bad luck (or maybe good luck!), but the filmed Q&A session is available with some great questions and hopefully decent answers - http://www.globalpovertyproject.com/pages/lblhangout

I will save the next blog for how I ended my Live Below the Line journey as I think it was pretty cool and in totally New York style.

A huge congratulations to all the people who took part in the week and I know they will have received a lot of perspective, insight, reflection and hopefully lots of resolve from the week!

Not very often I get to unpack my bag and use a cupboard… Special moment for the next two weeks moments!

9 thoughts on “The Official Live Below the Line Week from New York

  1. D’arcy. I took the Live Below the Line Challenge last week. I used existing stores in my house, for the most part — so not entirely sure of cost — but back-of-the-napkin math had be spending about $1.70 a day. Tough to get to $1.50. I figured I got about 1200 calories a day at that level. I could sustain myself but always feeling some dull hunger. Eye-opening that this is how much of the planet operates most days. Thanks for leading me to the experience.

    BTW, I took the savings of what I would have likely spent on food on those days and made a contribution to Global Poverty Project.

    Jack McDonald in Portland

    • Fantastic Jack and you show how well the campaign works on many different levels of understanding, insights and sponsorship to work on the ground. Congrats and thanks again for all your support, especially while I was in Portland.

      Cheers, d’Arcy.

  2. Hi d’Arcy.
    I did Live Below the Line last week after all. I don’t normally eat any grains, and I wanted to see if it could be done with my usual nutritional emphasis—adequate protein and good fats. Basically I went for quality over quantity, and I thought you might like to hear how it went. What I ate: 2 eggs (50¢) and one chicken leg (75¢), dandelion greens, chives and rhubarb from my garden, leaving 25¢/day for a few almonds and coffee. I never felt hungry, cranky or brain fogged, and I did not get tired of my restrictive menu, although it obviously wasn’t enough calories, This in pretty big contrast to what most bloggers were reporting. Of course, most of the 1.4 billion do not have the luxury of choice, one of the things for which this challenge has made me extremely grateful. Thanks again for all you are doing. Hope to see you here again in a couple of months.
    Sue
    Squamish
    $ savings for the week to the Stephen Lewis Foundation

    • Wonderful Sue!

      Did you cost the food from your garden as anything that passes your mouth needs to have a cost, even if it is the lowest market price possible…

      This is a great post though and love the way you went about it and in the end it is all about lessons learnt and conversations had. I will certainly be back in Squamish at some stage between July 1-10 and look forward to catch up with a big group then for the global eradication of polio!

      Cheers, d’Arcy.

  3. Oops, just checked my food diary and I forgot the bowl of oatmeal. I knew I didn’t get 25¢ worth of almonds and coffee!

  4. From the Challenge:
    “You can use food sourced from your garden as long as you can account for the price of production!”

    It cost me absolutely nothing (ever) for the things I foraged, so no, I didn’t count them as a cost. However, that extra 25¢/day for Canada would surely cover it! I wondered what our number should be, as I know from others blog entries that food is definitely more here— people were reporting buying eggs, beans, tuna for less than 1/2 what I could ever find them for. On that note, I hope that next year Canada will have its own presence in this challenge.

    • Good points and price of production I think your time alone is worth plenty!!!

      I too also hope it will be prominent in Canada but it needs someone… You volunteering?

Leave a Reply

